Mr. Bill Markiewicz

"You can't hoot with the owls, if you want to soar with the eagles."

Bill Markiewicz was a driving force on the Rockland County cross country and track scene in the 70's and 80's. Born in Brooklyn in 1949, he graduated from Albertus Magnus High School in 1967. In 1972 he began teaching math at Clarkstown High School; he would become the coach of the North boys' and girls' cross country teams in 1978. Under his guidance, the Rams won Section 9 cross country championship in 1983 before the realignment for Section 1. In the spring of 1990, he relinquished his coaching duties to concentrate on his health, as he had been diagnosed with cancer. Over the next 18 months he experienced a wonderful outpouring of support from his friends and colleagues in the Rockland and surrounding running communities.

He passed away on March 13, 1991, at the age of 41.

In the fall of 1991, the Alumni Race was renamed the Rockland Alumni Cross Country/Bill Markiewicz Memorial Run to honor Bill's impact on the sport in Rockland County. That Year also saw the birth of the Bill Markiewicz Award, which is now presented annually at the start of the race to an individual who has made a significant contribution to the local cross country community. Mr. Markiewicz himself was the first recipient of the award; his widow Janet now presents the award each year as the runners gather on the starting line to pay tribute to this special man.

Past Winners of the Bill Markiewicz Award:

1991 - Bill Markiewicz

1992 - Dick Teetsel &

Tom Doherty

1993 - Jamie Kempton

1994 - Joe Biddy

1995 - Dan Doherty

1996 - Larry Beckerle

1997 - Walt Johnston

1998 - Ralph Coleman

1999 - Gene Dall

2000 - Bob Hudson

2001 - Bruce Woolley

2002 - Lou Hall

2003 - Ray Oswall

2004 - Michael Collins

2005 - Jason Friedman

2006 - Pat Chambers

2007 - Kevin Stewart

2008 - Fred Alder

2009 - Ray Sussmann

2010 - Janie Howell

2011 - Ray Kondracki

2012 - Chuck Sommerlad

2013 - George Hoy

2014 – Howard Arciniegas

2015 – Jim Glover

2016 – William Szachewicz

2017 - Bob Dillon

2018 - Jay Kaplan

2019 - Pete Modafferi

2020 - Race Cancelled

2021- Pat Driscoll

2022 - Jeff Dempsey

2023 -